Take some time to clear your mind.

For whatever reason, I’ve felt kind of down this week. Very unusual for me since I’m normally so happy that I’m bouncing off the walls. I was feeling unhappy, angry, sad, and stressed. There was a huge knot in my stomach and chest. Why? I’m not exactly sure. Sometimes we have these feelings and we cannot explain them. That’s ok. The important thing is not to push these feelings away and to acknowledge them instead. I knew I was having these feelings and knew I needed to do something to help myself. I got out of the house, went to run an errand and and on my way, realized that I would be passing Houghton’s Pond – one of my favorite places outside of the city. It is so peaceful and beautiful there. I decided to stop.

Houghton's Pond

Take some time to clear your mind.

I kid you not, even as I just thought about going, some stress lifted off of me. Once I got there, I sat by the pond and did some meditating. Then I said aloud 3 things I was grateful for, 3 highlights of my last week, and 3 things I’m looking forward to this week. We often get so tied up in our emotions that we forget to take a step back and recognize the good in our lives. Stating these few things made me feel 1000x better almost immediately. So next time you’re feeling down, I encourage you to find your Houghton’s Pond, your happy place. Embrace your emotions. Cry or scream if you need to but then think about the good. I’d bet it outweighs the bad.

Relax, renew, rejoice.

What are 3 things you’re grateful for? 3 things you are looking forward to this week? 3 highlights of your past week?

Leave a comment